Meeting location: J. W. Flours, Catering and Bakery; 1030 El Paseo, Las Cruces, NM.

Attending: Jane Asche, Gus Bigelow, John Bloom, Paul Borunda, Alex Burr, Joyce Cassidy, Rose Garcia, Jim Kadlecek, Bob Lowe, Ron Nesler, Betty Pool, Sue Torres Van Frank, Charlie Welch.

Dr. Jim Kadlecek, Chairperson, called the meeting to order at 11:50 AM.

The minutes of the Governing Board Meeting of August 28, 2002 were unanimously approved upon motion by R. Nesler.

Gus Bigelow, Vice-Chairperson, led a discussion about the proposed SNMCC Governance Plan. The membership of SNMCC shall consist of those Common Cause members who live in New Mexico Congressional District 2. Initially we will focus on issues in Las Cruces and Dona Ana County. As membership grows, we hope to establish more groups throughout southern New Mexico (there are interested individuals in Socorro and Carlsbad). SNMCC will interface with Common Cause/National and Common Cause/New Mexico by serving as the eyes and ears for state and national issues here in southern New Mexico. Sturgis’ Standard Code of Parliamentary Procedure shall govern the procedural and organizational affairs of the SNMCC not provided for in this governance plan. A quorum shall consist of a majority of the SNMCC Governing Board members. Removal of officers shall remain somewhat broad in order to encourage additional members. There being no further questions or discussion, the proposed SNMCC Governance Plan was unanimously passed upon motion by G. Bigelow.

Issue Updates:

Other/ New Business: P. Borunda voiced concern about the Municipal Court system and stated that perhaps this is something that should be addressed by this group. He suggested that the Municipal Court be monitored. After discussion, several members volunteered to informally go to the court to observe proceedings.

The next meeting of the SNMCC Governing Board is October 16, 2001 from 11:30 AM to 1:00 PM. The location will be at J.W. Flours, 1030 El Paseo, Las Cruces.

Chairperson J. Kadlecek adjourned the meeting at 1:35 PM.



Respectfully submitted,

Susan Torres Van Frank

SNMCC Secretary