Las Cruces City Council Meeting - November 19, 2007 – Nancy Phillips

 The first meeting was presided over by Mayor Mattiace with the "old" Council members.  They completed unfinished business, passed two ordinances of a routine nature, and removed another as it was no longer being pursued. The Mayor thanked everyone for their service and support and adjourned. 

 After a brief recess during which cake and punch were served in the lobby, the second meeting was convened by Ken Miyagishima and attended by the newly elected council of Miguel Silva, Dolores Connor, Nathan Small , Dolores Archuleta and Gil Jones.  Judge Fernando Macias administered the Oath of Office to Municipal Judge Melissa Miller-Byrnes, Councilors Miguel Silva, Dolores Connor, Nathan Small, and Mayor Ken Miyagishima. The first order of business was to elect a new mayor pro tem.  Gil Jones nominated Dolores Connor, incumbent, and Miguel Silva nominated Dolores Archuleta.

The new mayor pro tem is Archuleta.

 Mayor Miyagishima then announced that comments from the public on items on or not on the agenda would be limited to five minutes per meeting.  People may speak only twice during each meeting up to a total of five minutes.  Councilors will be limited to three rounds on individual agenda items without time limits, at least for now.

 All routine ordinances and resolutions were passed unanimously, with the lengthiest discussion taking place regarding the Downtown Tax Increment Development District proposal.  Staff clarified that eminent domain is not allowed in a TIDD, and that the resolution authorizes calling for a mail ballot-only election regarding the formation of a TIDD.  It was agreed that the ballot should state

clearly the purpose and impact to individuals.

 There will be a special election on January 15 for the District 6 position vacated by Miyagishima.

Candidates must file on December 4 and must collect 25 valid signatures from registered voters in the District.

 The meeting adjourned at 4:55 p.m.